Personal Site UI and Design 2010

This is what I designed, built and was using for blogging, portfolio content and résumés before I decided to go with WordPress 100%. UI wireframes and site architecture were sketched by hand and a template was then created in Photoshop to ensure measurements, and such, were correct and precise for coding purposes. In addition to this, all HTML, CSS and Javascript code was keyed in by myself without the aid of WYSIWYG apps like Dreamweaver (although, I do know how to use such apps).

The concept for the UI design was “clean and simple.” At that time I was hosting the site on a free server, so I knew bandwidth would be low and loading time would be slow. In order to speed-up page loading, this straight-edge and minimalist design reduced page weight by eliminating user interface (UI) elements such as rounded corners, drop-shadowed edges, textured backgrounds, etc. CSS implementation was strictly to establish colors, measurements, typeface features, and needed Javascript functionality for the user experience (UX). This clean and simple approach resulted in a page load time that was competative with higher bandwidth sites without sacrificing an aesthetic UI or an effective UX.

So why did I abandon this and switch to using WordPress? As I was in charge of coding my site’s HTML, CSS and Javascript in addition to its UI, UX and graphic design–it all became too time consuming. I wanted to focus less on my site’s design/maintenance and more on my family, my university studies, and the development of my fine arts portfolio… not to mention a full-time job. WordPress does most of the work for me–while still empowering me as a skilled designer–and therefore frees up my time.

